The Job Scheduling utility supports the ability for groups to be scheduled rather than just individual resources. Once a group has been allocated to a task, any task bar that is created against one member of the group, will automatically be copied through to all the members of the group.
To add a group through to the allocation screen, the scheduler needs to drag the group header (which may be the group name when the Scheduling View is set to By Resource or the Master Job ID when the Scheduling View is set to By Resource) through to the relevant Job or Resource. The system will then prompt the user to confirm that they want to copy the records through as a group.
By right-clicking a member of the group, the system will provide a menu option to remove the member from the group. Once removed the system will exclude that member when any new schedules are applied to the group.
The system will not remove the scheduled task bars that have already been created against the member that is being removed.
Once a member has been removed, they cannot be reassigned to the group.
Article is closed for comments.